Letter 31

Letter 31

Date: February 24, 2013
Area: East Sacramento, California
Companion: Hermana/Sister

 

​Hello Fam!
 
   Well this week was a great week and guess what dun dun dun IM TRAINING. Crazy! I was really surprised when I got the call last night actually. Hermana Marroquin is going down to Tracy west to be with Hermana Crane. President told her she is getting that area ready for training. It feels kind of weird jumping from jr companion to trainer but hey I guess that’s what you have to do when there’s lotsa missionaries coming in! I actually think there are only 2 new spanish sisters that are coming in this transfer so there are a few sisters older than me in the mission that could train that aren’t, but I think president is getting them ready to train 2 (possibly?) at the end of this transfer. So we will see! All I know is that I’ll have a new sister for the next 2 transfers here in East Sacramento. I’m excited!
 
    Our investigator Andrea is AMAZING. I don’t remember if I’ve written a lot about her but she is reading the Book of Mormon, praying, and asks us amazing questions during lessons. She has yet to come to church but said she wants to come with us this Sunday. We taught her the plan of Salvation and she LOVED it. She was really pensive, said she liked the idea of the Spirit World where everyone gets to hear the gospel, and it answered a lot of her questions about life. (She goes to a mainstream christian church right now). Andrea said she was always confused about where we go after this life so it was really cool to see her brain really working around it. She said she’d like to read about it in the BOM (2 Ne. 2 and Alma 40) and really pray about it/ponder it before she knows if it’s true. Hermana Marroquin and I said well YEAH that’s exactly what you are supposed to do! It was exciting. She GOT it. So that made me happy.

    We also got to talk to come crazies this week! Hahaha. We actually were knocking doors and this big ol’ white lady answers the door. She says, “Mormons? Are you BLEEEEEEEPING serious?” …….and begins to talk to us. We said, yes, we are serious. We are from the Church of Jesus Christ. But it was a cool conversation! She began by saying, I’m going to tell you why I have a problem with your church (come to find out she was actually knowledgable about a lot of different religions). Male heirerchy, polygamy, blah blah blah. She asked us if we were allowed to go to college, I said yes I am actually almost done with school, I almost finished before my mission. She asks me what I study. Anthropology. So that brought up a conversation (throughout which she begins to swear and cuss like crazy). I said lady, the church has given me so many opprotunities as a woman and a person, I’ve had so many leadership/educational opprotunities and I am an independent woman and thinker, but I just have to tell you I KNOW this is the true church. I think she gained a lot of respect after that. I said I’ve never felt repressed by the church in any way, in fact, I feel impowered and like the gospel has made me such a strong person. Well after that she had respected us and we started talking about the BOM, come to find out, she actually has one and had READ parts of it! We said, will you read it again? She said she would. It was about a 20min conversation total but it was really cool, I felt the ability to testify come to me in the exact moment I needed it. SO COOL. I know it was help from Heavenly Father. I love having conversations like that, even if it’s with someone we can’t teach. At the end she told us her name was Irene. She even said, well, you ladies are lovely, good luck with your missions. SO COOL.
 
   Well that’s about all the excitement for this week, I’m sure I’ll have more with my trainee this week! I’m sad I won’t be companions with Hermana Marroquin, we had so much fun together (pictures to come in the next email!) In all honesty it took me a while to get the swing of things in East Sac but I love it here and I know I’ll see MIRACLES with my trainee. I’m excited!!!!! Love you all have a great week!
con amor,
Hermana Aud

Leave a Reply

