Letter 22

Date: December 17, 2012
Area: Tracy, California
Companion: Hermana/Sister Romero

Hello once again!
    Hi family. I can’t believe we are so close to Christmas! AH! I am excited and grateful to be here at this time. I don’t know how much I will write today, I am just plain tired today. But only because this week was AWESOME and I LOVE Hermana Romero! We are always laughing and having fun and working really hard. It’s good. For example: We had the ward Christmas party Saturday and the missionaries were asked to sing a special musical number. So we were practicing and
then she went into the bathroom and I was making phone calls. THEN I hear at the top of her lungs her singing/yelling: “Un elefante, se colupiaba, sobre la tela de una arana, como veia que resistia fueron a llamar a otro elefante!!!!!!!!!!!!” And I started busting out laughing because I had NO idea what she was doing! I was like Hermana Romero what is that song?! ….I learned it is a Mexican children’s song about an elephant swinging on a spider’s web, and each verse one more elephant piles on the web. Cool, huh? She was singing it to “warm up her voice.”
But it was sooooo funny (hermana romero ….doesn’t sing very well. haha). So I learn cool things like that. Now we sing that song all the time.Image
      This week we……. talked to a crazy lady! And I actually learned something really cool from her. Sometimes I think it is the crazy people we talk to that are the most interesting ones. We were looking for a less active lady in our ward and came across her. She answered the door
and started talking to us. Hna Romero asked: So where are you from? The woman glared at her, and said, why do you ask? …Uh, because we ask people that a lot? She said, I come from JESUS. JESUS!!!!!! Oh. That’s right. HE tells me where to go! Ok. And she was telling us about
Jehova’s Witnesses come knocking on her door and they say, “We’re the Jehovah’s Witnesses” and she says, oh no you’re not! I AM JEHOVAH WITNESS! Just like that. Oh my gosh it was so funny. But the really cool thing I learned from her? She had absolutely no fear. Are you looking
for someone? She asked us. I’ll help you knock on doors! I am not afraid to TESTIFY of Jesus, I’ll go and do anything He wants me to. God knows he can depend on THIS servant. Those were her exact words. Neat, huh? In that moment I was like, me too. I would do that too. You can learn
something from everyone. This is something very important I am learning on my mission. Lessons to be learned EVERYWHERE. So this lady let us in and we had a nice chat, that went something like: us trying to squeeze the first lesson in while crazy lady was testifying to us about what she knows is true. And a lot of what she said was true! She understood a lot. And then she talked about how she has the same authority that was given to Christ to exercise demons and we were like…okay. Haha. She told us how God had saved her life 5 or 6 times, each time she said, “YES! Thank you God! Thank you!!!!!” Ahhh it was fun. We left and Hna Romero and I were just laughing and laughing. Needless to say, I am meeting lots of different kinds of people here on my mission.  We met a really neat woman from looking for this same less active woman. (We had a lot of wrong addresses). Her name is Eloise. She is a grandma with lots of family and her husband passed away a long time ago. So she let us in and we started talking to here. She said she was Catholic (like everybody else). BUT! I noticed on the wall an LDS pass along card with a picture of Christ on it. I said where did you get that?! Elders had come by years ago. So we talked to her and set up an appointment for the next day. We came back and taught her the plan of Salvation, and she said, I know everything you told me is true. And then we started talking about baptism and SHE asked US when she could get baptized!!!!! It was the coolest thing! So we are working with her now. We helped Eloise put away her laundry and I guess she liked us because she gave us a pair of shoes and a dress each! (It was really immodest
but we were like thank you so much! It was really nice of her. I was touched). She is really sweet.
       Also! We are still working with Fidel, the bromista. He came to church 2 times! We were so proud! He has diabetes so it’s hard for him. He is reading the BOM. I love him and Adelina so much. I am going to get a picture with them soon. He is progressing slowly but surely. He still
tries to give us kisses on the cheek but I try to avoid them, haha. AH! I love them so much. I don’t know when I’ll leave Tracy but it will be hard to leave them when I do.     Image
            Oh wow I wrote a lot! Haha. Ok well I love you all and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Feliz Navidad!!!!!!! ………just a warning in advance, I did not get presents for anyone. I was going to try and then last pday was crazy and this pday I was just exhausted. SO! Just know
that I love you all so much. SO MUCH. Les extrano mucho. I miss you all a lot. And I don’t actually have any information about skyping on Christmas, they haven’t told anyone of us yet. So I actually don’t know what time to tell you. Our pday starts at 4pm Christmas eve so I’ll send
a short email about what time. What time would be good for you all? I was thinking the morning-ish. Ok well I love you all, have a great week!  Remember CHRIST is the REASON! For everything.
con amor,
Hermana Aud

Leave a Reply

